Family meal planner apps compared
A meal plan works for a family when everyone can plan along and the plan turns into a shopping list. We compared seven apps on exactly that. Superkitchen is our own app. To keep this fair, we only list what the developers state in the App Store or on their websites, as of 30 September 2026. Where a developer says nothing, the table says “not stated”.
What matters for families
- Everyone plans along. Who’s cooking, who’s eating, what do the kids want? Easiest with a login for each person.
- The plan becomes the shopping list. And whatever is already at home stays off it.
- Recipes come in easily. From a website, from Instagram or from grandma’s handwritten card.
- Clear prices. You should know up front what’s free and what needs a subscription.
Seven apps at a glance
| App | Plan together | Shopping list from the plan | Pantry | Recipe import | Languages | Devices | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Superkitchenour app | Yes, a login for each person, kids even without a device; who’s cooking is set for each day | Yes, checked against the pantry | Yes, also from receipts, photos or voice | Link, Instagram, TikTok, photo, handwriting (AI, 1 credit) | English, German | iPhone, iPad | Free, no ads. AI uses credits: 30 to start, AI subscription €4.99 or €9.99 a month |
| Cozi Family Organizer | Yes, one family account for up to 12 people | Ingredients per recipe | not stated | Link | English | iPhone, iPad, Android, web | Free with ads. Gold from €34.99 a year, Max €89.99 a year |
| Samsung Food | Yes, share plans with family and friends | Yes | With Food+ | Websites; Instagram and TikTok: not stated | English and others | iPhone, iPad, Android, web | Free. Food+ €7.99 a month or €69.99 a year |
| Paprika Recipe Manager 3 | Through one shared account | Yes, from the selected meals | Yes, with expiry dates | Websites | English and others | iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac, Windows (each sold separately) | €5.99 one-time (iOS) |
| Plan to Eat | Through one shared account | Yes | Staples list | Websites, Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest | English | iPhone, iPad, Android, web | No free plan, 14-day trial. €59.99 a year |
| Meal Planner & Weekly MenuYouMealPlan | Through a shared account | Yes | not stated | Link, Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, photo (AI, daily allowance) | English and many others | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Android, web | Free, no ads. “Advanced menu planning” €9.99 |
| Meal Planner & Grocery ListJOJO APPS | Yes, sync with partner or family | Yes | Yes, with barcode scanner | Website, photo, recipe card | English and many others | iPhone, iPad, Android | Subscription €4.99 a month, €19.99 a year or €29.99 one-time; free tier: not stated |
Information from the App Store and the developers’ websites as of 30 Sep 2026. Prices as listed in the German App Store or on the developer’s website, including VAT; prices in other countries differ. Some developers list several prices at once, we show the standard price they name.
The apps in detail
Superkitchen
Our app, in the App Store since July 2026. Everyone gets their own login, kids can be added without a device, and the plan shows who’s cooking on which day. The shopping list checks the ingredients of planned meals against the pantry, and nutrition per serving is calculated from the ingredients. Available for iPhone and iPad only, iOS 26 or later.
Cozi Family Organizer
A family organizer with calendar, lists and a recipe box, meals sit in the calendar. The whole family uses one shared account. The free version shows ads.
Samsung Food
A large recipe collection with over 240,000 recipes according to the developer, a weekly planner and shared shopping lists. AI meal plans and pantry management are part of Food+. The iOS app was last updated in May 2026.
Paprika Recipe Manager 3
A one-time-purchase recipe manager with planner, shopping list and pantry, importing from websites. Version 4 has been in open beta since 28 September 2026 and, according to the developer, adds social import and nutrition, with some features moving to a subscription later.
Plan to Eat
Collect and plan recipes with an automatic shopping list and calculated nutrition. No free plan, but a 14-day trial. The household shares one account.
Meal Planner & Weekly Menu (YouMealPlan)
Imports by link from Instagram, TikTok, YouTube and websites and from photos with AI, with a free daily allowance. Calories and macros per meal, also runs in the browser, on the Mac and on Windows.
Meal Planner & Grocery List (JOJO APPS)
A plan generator based on diet, allergies and ingredients at home, a pantry with barcode scanner and sync with a partner or family. The developer doesn’t say which features are free.
What about Mealime?
Many lists still recommend Mealime. According to the developer, the app shuts down on 21 October 2026 and personal data is deleted when it does, so it’s not in the table. What the shutdown means and what the alternatives offer is in our guide to Mealime alternatives. Choosy, a popular German meal planner, is only available in the App Store in Germany, Austria and Switzerland.
Frequently asked questions
Which meal planner app is free?
According to the developers, Superkitchen, Samsung Food and Meal Planner & Weekly Menu can be used for free, and Cozi has a free version with ads. Most keep some features for a subscription. In Superkitchen, only the AI features use credits, and you get 30 to start. Plan to Eat has no free plan, Paprika is a one-time purchase.
Which app lets the whole family plan together?
All seven apps offer a shared plan. Superkitchen gives each person their own login. Cozi uses one family account, and with Paprika, Plan to Eat and Meal Planner & Weekly Menu you share a login. Samsung Food and Meal Planner & Grocery List share plans with others but don’t say how accounts work. Only Superkitchen mentions a cook for each day.
Can I add recipes from Instagram to my meal plan?
According to the developers, yes with Superkitchen, Meal Planner & Weekly Menu and Plan to Eat. Which apps save recipes from Instagram and TikTok, and what’s free, is in our second comparison.
Sources
Retrieved on 30 Sep 2026. All feature details are the developers’ own information, we did not test the apps ourselves.